Glorious!

“Oh what a day! Glorious!
Gather ‘round
There’s nothing better
Than a friend
Oh what a day! Glorious!
The smell of rain
Has hitched a ride
Upon the wind
I’ve got good friends
To the left of me
And good friends
To my right
Got the open sky above me
And the earth beneath my feet
Got a feeling in my heart
That’s singin’
All in life is sweet
Oh what a day!

Oh, what a day! Glorious!
All the clouds
Have gathered round
The tops of trees
Oh what a day! Glorious!
Pitter patter
Fallin’ rain I can’t believe
All that’s green
Lifts up its leaves
Singin’ water come on in
We’ve been waiting all these days
Prayin’ you would come to quench
Every yearnin’ in our bones
Water, life with you begins
Oh what a day

Home is believing
Home has wings of faith
Home is a clear river
Of perceiving
All is well
This is a friendly mystery

Oh, what a day! Glorious!
Baby blue jay
Squawkin’ in the cherry tree
Oh, what a day! Glorious!
Deep in the night we had a raccoon robbery
Pitter patter little paws
Have left their footprints all around
Pitter patter evidence
Some fruit has fallen to the ground
Pitter patter sings my heart
At the thought of what’s to come
Oh, what a day!

Home is believing
Home has wings of faith
Home is a clear river of perceiving
All is well
This is a friendly mystery
All is well
This is a friendly mystery

Oh, what a day! Glorious!
Under the sky we slept last night
Just you and me
Oh, what a day! Glorious!
The waning moon
Our cycle is almost complete
We’ve got good friends to the left of us
And good friends to our right
Got the open sky above us
And the earth beneath our feet
Never fear-the birds are singin’
Even endings can be sweet
Oh, what a day!
Never fear–the birds are singin’
Even endings can be sweet
Oh, what a day!”

Lyrics by Mamuse

Our house was warmed by such a beautiful community last night and though I was tired this morning my day began beautifully with the thought in my heart of good people wishing us well and joining us in song, and meal, and drink! It was glorious!! I was driving out to Marin to meet up with some folks on a farm and as I entered the glowing green of spring’s fecundity the warmth in my belly grew and grew! I’ve never been filled with such a pleasure,  a warm elation as I considered all that I have to be grateful for, all that the river of my life is flowing towards, and the nascent confidence in what I can offer to this world begins to bud and grow.

I’m so excited to meet all the folks who will decide to come with me into the back country this summer, I’m so excited to meet the folks who are going to come with me to farms and fields this summer. I’m so thrilled for my life to continue to fill with wonder, mystery, magic, beautiful blooming and blossoming people, and all the glory of this beautiful world. Oh what a day!

Today I threaded my way through different towns and cities stopping at yoga studios, natural food stores, cafes and restaurants, and with a prayer left these shiny brochures of my new endeavors for those who would find them. In my heart I found myself quietly and blissfully marveling in the thought of a million tiny miracles and serendipitous moments that would lead to people finding us. All those moments and paths converging from all over this place, and maybe even this world, to join in an incredible place for the purpose of being. Of practicing yoga together, and of some small transformation. I felt this sweetness in myself, delicate and loving, perhaps a little fragile, as I put my heart out with each of these brochures and believed in the best.

So far while I’ve been organizing these trips for Back to Earth I’ve been focusing on the logistics, the details, and how things will come together in the physical material way. This is very important. But as I traveled from place to place today, and as I walked on the paths through the forest in Golden Gate park, I found myself so hungry to just be there, not going anywhere, feeling the breeze and the sun, watching the clouds speed by through the trees overhead, to hear how different leaves make different sounds when they rustle and move, to see how different trees’ branches sway differently in the wind. To see the birds swoop together perfectly, and the trees explode into pink flowers, blushing, and flying on the wind as light as goose down feathers. In all this I felt a call and an answer, a tired note from my mind and a loving surge of support from everything green and fresh around me. I felt a deeper channel of connection opened and how beautiful it felt to ease into it. It was there that I began to find myself feeling called to prepare myself spiritually for the work I’ll do this summer. To spend time in nature now so that when we’re out there, groups of people with expectations and needs that I can quietly be tuned in to what is all around us. What a day… glorious.

With love, Dashielle

Leave a Reply

